Preliminary Round

One French Suite from BWV 812 – 817
+ one of the following works or groups of works:
Toccata f sharp minor BWV 910
Toccata e minor BWV 914
Prelude & Fugue a minor BWV 894
4 Duets BWV 802 – 805
5 Inventions from the 15 Inventions BWV 772 – 786



One Partita
+ the specified number of Preludes & Fugues from the Well-tempered Clavier:

Partita No. 1 BWV 825 + 3 Preludes & Fugues
Partita No. 2 BWV 826 + 2 Preludes & Fugues
Partita No. 3 BWV 827 + 2 Preludes & Fugues
Partita No. 4 BWV 828 + 1 Prelude & Fugue
Partita No. 5 BWV 829 + 2 Preludes & Fugues
Partita No. 6 BWV 830 + 1 Prelude & Fugue



One English Suite from BWV 806 – 811
+ one or more original works by J. S. Bach chosen by the performer


French Overture b minor BWV 831
+ one or more original works by J. S. Bach chosen by the performer


Goldberg Variations BWV 988 (without repeats)


A set of Preludes and Fugues from the Well-tempered Clavier (excluding those of the Quarter-final)

Duration of the Semi-Final: minimum 30 minutes, maximum 40 minutes.

(Only exception: Goldberg-Variations)



Piano Concerto D minor BWV 1052


Piano Concerto E major BWV 1053


Piano Concerto D major BWV 1054


Piano Concerto A major BWV 1055

Notes on Repertoire


All works are to be performed from memory.

Suite (French Suite, English Suite as well as Partita) movements must be performed with repeats.
The participant may decide to perform the Preludes of the Well-Tempered Clavier with or without repeats.

Sarabandes with “Doubles/Agréments” may be performed alternately.

The competitor may decide to play the repeats of single Sarabandes with figurations and ornaments.


If the 1st English Suite is chosen, the competitor is to play at least two of the four Courantes.

French Overture b minor 6/8 section in the first movement is to be played without repeats.

Please use original texts (“Urtext”);  all alternate versions of Urtext will be accepted.

The additional works of the 3rd round must be original works by J. S. Bach, however the following works are excluded:

  • Italian Concerto BWV 971
  • Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue BWV 903
  • the 2 Capricci BWV 992 and 993
  • the 16 Concertos BWV 972-987
  • transcriptions
  • single movements
  • pieces of doubtful authenticity (in case of doubt, consult the BWV)


The contest is open to candidates born after March 21, 1982, i.e. who are no older than 36 at the time of the contest.

Please send your application before December 15, 2018.
Only complete applications will be accepted!

Important: please make sure the 150€ has been transferred before the 15th of December 2018 .